skip to main content

Union Plus

AFL-CIO Union Plus benefits help current and retired labor union members and their families save money and support them through major milestones, celebrations and hardships. Learn More.
Union Members & Families: Get Special Union Deals Now! Never Show Again Close
Union Plus
Union Members & Families: Get Special Deals Now!
Fill in below to take advantage of special union discounts and benefits

Select your union:

Select your occupation

Are you a Union Plus credit cardholder?

View Privacy Policy

2012 Union Plus Scholarship Winners

  • print

Union Plus Scholarship Program provides more than a decade of higher education support for working families


The Union Plus Scholarship program is an example of the U.S. labor movement's commitment to higher education. Click here and learn more about the scholarship. Since 1992, Union Privilege, through the Union Plus Scholarship program has helped fulfill the educational dreams of students representing more than 13 million working families across the nation.

The Union Plus Scholarship awards are presented annually to union members or members of their families who want to begin or continue their post-secondary education. 

In 2012, some 129 union members and union family members have been awarded $150,000 in scholarships, ranging from $500 to $4,000.

2012 Scholarship Winners


$4,000 Winners
Edwin Makarevich, IBT
Michael Medina, AFSCME
Chase Morrin, AFT
Abbey Muzatko, AFSCME
Emma O'Connor-Brooks, AFSCME
Edwin Park, IAM
Henry Qiu, BCTGM
Aia Sarycheva, SEIU

$3,000 Winners
Nader Daoud, AFSCME
Jenna Davison, SEIU
Neimy Escobar, UNITE HERE
Alexandra Figler, AFT
Bertie Geng, NALC

$2,000 Winners
Benjamin Magyar, IBEW
Gerhard Steven, Jr., USW
Oscar Wong, NALC
Steven Woods, BCTGM
Caitlin Eckert, IBEW
Richie Huynh, GMP

$1,500 Winners
Zachary Pattin, ILWU
Valerie Zeffiro, AFT

$1,000 Winners
Teresa Albano, TNG-CWA
Leia Alex, AFT
Hayden Amaro, ALPA
Alexander Anderson, IAM
Lindsey Brooker, UWUA
Mollee Brown, AFT
Tyler Cahill, UAW
Erica Callahan, SEIU
Victoria Camera, TCU
Nora Castrejon, IUPAT
Anthony Cava, TWU
Daniel Chatham, IAFF
Zobia Chunara, AFT
Danielle Cohn, AEA & SAG-AFTRA
Sarah Crocker, ATU & NNU
Melissa Ertl, USW & AFSCME
Jesus Espinoza, LIUNA
Lutitia Ferguson, IBEW
Kaitlyn Gioia, IUOE
Evan Griffith, AEA & SAG-AFTRA
Henry Gruba, IAFF
Hayley Grzych, IBEW
Elizabeth Hanna, AFSCME
Katlyn Haven, SEIU
Dylan Himmerich, CSEA
Devon Jedamski, IBEW
Kaycee Johnsen, SEIU
Eric'el Johnson, UAW
Calin Kachek, IFPTE
Alex Kunz, IUOE
Brian Lien, BCTGM
Clarissa Lin, CWA
Julia Lund, IFPTE
Stasha Malcolm, CSEA
Madelaine Matej, AGMA
Tamara Mau, CSEA
Dimitre Nitchev, IBEW
Travis Noddings, IUEC
Anthony Otten, APWU
Michael Peachock, AFSCME & SEIU
Deanne Petersen, UFCW
Ambrose Plante, OPEIU
Kelsey Potter, IBEW
Erin Salz, UAW
Namratha Sathish, CSEA
Alexis Smith, CWA
Cole Smith, UAW
Mollie Wagoner, IAM
Shanna Wall, SEIU
Alaina Warren, IBEW
Jacob Weber, AFT & IATSE
Spencer Wilson, CWA
Brooke Chapla, UAW
Isabel Cole, NATCA
Adia Coleman, AFSCME & IUEC
Maria Cortes-Zamora, AFT
Christopher Davis, AFT
Amy Engelhardt, SAG-AFTRA
Sergio Fuentes, UFW
Lacee Koplin, UFCW
Melissa Mahon, AEA
Lois Park, APWU
Alexander Ritter, AGMA
Trunina O'Neal, SEIU

$750 Winners
Edward Auer, UFCW
Lauren Boag, UFCW
Shawn Campbell, IUPAT
Hunter Coulombe, AFT
Patricia Fisher, UFCW
Alejandra Garcia, UFCW
Kendall Womble, USW
Heather Wright, IFPTE

$500 Winners
Erin Andersen, IRONWORKERS
Jennifer Anderson, BLET
Tanner Boden, IAFF
Kelly Brennan, OPEIU
Kate Butterbaugh, APWU
Rocco Buttliere, IAFF & UFCW
Katherine Cable, AFT
Chelsea Cahill, SEIU
Devin Carr, OPCMIA
Fiona Chalmers, CWA & SEIU
Chase Chamberlain, IUOE
Eve Chase, AFGE
Dana Cody, IUEC & AFT
Sarah Courtney, AFT
Courtney Cox, USW
Timothy Foster, NALC
Rachael Bach, OPEIU
Christopher Blum, UFCW
Rowdy Edinger, IBT & AFSCME
Adriana Garcia, CSEA
Don Hampton, UFCW
Jeffrey Hicks, UAW
Randell Krol, AFSCME
Lexa Mahr, UA & AFT
Marissa Mort, APWU
Danise Moyer, CSEA
Shelby Mund, UAW
Katie Sears, AFSCME
Harry Shenberger, III, IBEW
Johanna Shindler, AFT
Julianne Shirshac, CSEA
Thomas Sienkiewicz, USW & AFSCME
Michael Tomaszewski, IBEW
Salina Upton, AFGE
Hailee Welch, UTU
Rebekka White, UTU

Challenging Process


The students selected for awards represent a wide sampling of demographics, union affiliations, goals and accomplishments. Representatives from the American Association of Community Colleges, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, and the United Negro College Fund judged the applications.

According to the judges, the caliber of students this year made the selection process very challenging. The students are from diverse backgrounds, and as a whole, they received top SAT scores, were well-rounded in their studies and extracurricular activities, and they understood the value of working families and union membership.

How the Scholarship Program Works


In addition to demonstrated academic ability, applicants submitted essays of no more than 500 words describing their career goals, detailing their relationship with the labor movement, and explaining why they are deserving of a union scholarship.

The program is open to union members, their spouses and dependent children of unions that are participating in any Union Plus program. Individuals must be accepted into an accredited college or university, community college or recognized technical or trade school at the time the award is issued. Members do not have to purchase any Union Plus program product or participate in any Union Plus program to apply.

The Union Plus Scholarship Program is offered through the Union Plus Education Foundation.



For information about obtaining the Union Plus Scholarship application, click here. Each year, the application deadline is January 31 and chosen scholarship recipients' names are announced May 31. Due to the high volume of applications, only winners receive notification.

Explore Union Plus